The main components of ILC

One way ILC can foster increased inclusion is by providing grants to organisations to deliver activities to create real and lasting change for people with disability and their communities.

The approach to ILC includes Activity Areas, Focus Areas and Outcomes.

ILC Activity Areas

There are four Activity Areas for ILC. These are:

  1. Information, linkages and referrals – activities that provide people with disability and their families and carers with access to up-to-date, relevant and quality information and/or make sure they are linked into services and supports in the community that meet their needs.
  2. Capacity building for mainstream services – activities that increase mainstream services knowledge and skills to meet the needs of people with disability.
  3. Community awareness and capacity building – activities that will help community activities and programs understand the needs of people with disability and have the skills and knowledge they need to be more inclusive.
  4. Individual capacity building – activities that help people with disability to have the knowledge, skills and confidence they need to set and achieve their goals. People who do not have an NDIS plan will be prioritised in this area.

If you’re thinking about applying for an ILC grant, you’ll need to be focused on one of these Activity Areas.

ILC Focus Areas

There are five Focus Areas for ILC. These five Focus Areas provide a way of ensuring that the activities funded through ILC meet the needs of all people with disability, as well as their families and carers across Australia.

They also complement and strengthen the work of the LACs. Your application may address more than one Focus Area. For example you might have an idea to support people with disability from an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander background who live in regional or remote communities.

The five Focus Areas are:

  1. Specialist or expert delivery: The NDIA will focus on activities that provide specific skills and knowledge in relation to disability – for example, diagnostic specific expertise or expertise in particular models of support or capacity building.
  2. Cohort-focused delivery: The NDIA will focus on activities for specific groups of people that require detailed cultural or other knowledge to be effective – for example, multilingual activities to assist Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples or people from culturally or linguistically diverse backgrounds.
  3. Multi-regional activities: The NDIA will focus on activities that would be inefficient if delivered separately in different local areas – for example, advice or information that is not based on location and could be relevant anywhere.
  4. Remote and rural delivery: The NDIA delivery will focus on ensuring activities are designed to address local needs, circumstances and conditions in rural and remote locations.
  5. Delivery by people with disability, for people with disability: The NDIA will focus on supporting organisations that are run and controlled by people with disability. These are sometimes called user-led organisations.

If you are thinking of applying for an ILC grant, your idea will need to be focused on one or more of these Focus Areas.

Both the Activity Areas and Focus Areas have been kept deliberately broad – NDIA want to give organisations the opportunity to explain the change they want to see in their community and show why it will make a difference to the lives of people with disability. You are then given the freedom to propose new or innovative solutions to how you might bring about that change.

ILC Outcomes

ILC is aiming to influence change for people with disability in five ways. People with disability:

  1. Are connected and have the information they need to make decisions and choices.
  2. Have the skills and confidence to participate and contribute to the community and protect their rights.
  3. Use and benefit from the same mainstream services as everyone else.
  4. Participate in and benefit from the same community activities as everyone else.
  5. Actively contribute to leading, shaping and influencing their community.

Learn more: ILC Outcomes